Easter Tidings & Business Update

I know I’m late.  But I have not had the internet connections that would have allowed more timely greetings.  The Llangollen and Montgomery Canals have been utterly delightful but lacking in this regard.  This is not necessarily a bad thing.  Remote can be good.

This trip has marked the first time we have been out on Wand’ring Bark since my decision to officially go into the preserve making business.  In the run up to going away, I have been awash with legislation, registration and administration.  And I’m not entirely sure I’m sorted yet.  Actually, let me correct that.  I am entirely sure that I am NOT sorted yet!  You would not believe the complexity involved in selling a jar of jam.  However, all this red tape is designed to protect us and I really do not want to poison anyone so it’s all fine.  No really it is.  As well as tedious stuff, there has also been lot’s of exciting things – coming up with a name, ordering jars, planning a website, discussing logo design, booking fairs etc.

However, it really has been delightful to get away and get on with the actual making.  After all, that is kind of what I really want to do.  It’s been delightful to see the hedgerows waking up after winter and finally being able to dust off my maslin pan to make the most of their harvest.  Within days I had used up all the jars I brought with me so bought a dozen more.  These too are now full so I am hanging up my kit until we’re home when I have some boozy sloes that will need taking care of.  My boat cupboard is now full of Primrose Preserve, Dandelion Jelly, Primrose & Dandelion Jelly, Spiced Wild Garlic & Carrot Chutney and Wild Garlic & Apple Jelly.

At least I now have some products to sell!  Hopefully, my website will be live soon and details of how to buy will be available there.  Exciting times :)

13 thoughts on “Easter Tidings & Business Update

  1. That sounds very exciting Helen :) My best wishes for your venture’s success.

    In the mid-1980s I walked the entire length of the Montgomery Canal while doing my law degree placement. I spent a few days with one of the surveyors doing a full survey of the length for the legislation that would enable its restoration. A very happy and interesting time.

  2. Can’t wait to see what goodies are going to be available on your new website :)
    Good luck with your new venture ;)

  3. Good for you – and so brave to venture into the legislation.

    I’ve no intention of going into the preserves business but I want to continue jamming for charity and keep thinking that I must find out more about the regulations…..

    From what I’ve seen of your produce so far, they’re beautifully presented, unusual flavours that you can’t buy anywhere else and very yummy – surely a recipe for success :-)

Leave a Reply

