More birthdays

Today is the eighteenth birthday of the daughter of one of my favourite families. She was a tiny scrap when I first held her, barely three weeks old. Even then she had the most beautiful eyes. And I knew I loved her. I thought about posting embarrassing baby photos, and I have plenty, but I have resisted. It was hard. But I have decided to save them. A better occasion may come along. Or there may be a time when a little blackmail could be in order!

On Saturday, I spent the day with her mother. This gave me the opportunity to put together a little extra something to go with her birthday present. A bloody mary kit.

But not just any bloody mary kit. Oh no. This is The Best Bloody Mary Kit In The World. So I hope you are all sitting up and taking note. You will never taste a finer version, I promise you that. She had better appreciate it. But then again, she is eighteen. She will just knock it back *sigh*.

First of all you have to make your flavoured vodkas. This cannot be rushed. So plan ahead.

Chilli Vodka

500ml Vodka, 2 green chillies (skins pricked): Put chillies into vodka, leave for 3-4 days, siphon off into clean sterilised bottles and seal. Will keep for up to a year.

Basil Vodka

As above only with 8 basil leaves.

Garlic Vodka

As above only peel and halve 2 large garlic cloves.

I did not use 500ml of vodka. I scaled it down and made 3 lots of 100ml. I also left all the ‘bits’ in as I know it will be consumed pretty soon and they do look pretty. Now for the recipe proper. Are you ready?

The Best Bloody Mary In The World

Serves 6

50ml each Garlic, Basil, Chilli Vodka

50ml each Whisky, Sherry, Ginger Wine

good dash of Lea & Perrins Worcestershire sauce

few drops of Tabasco sauce

tomato juice to top up

1-2 lemons sliced

black pepper

Put all the ingredients except the tomato juice, lemon slices and black pepper into a large jug and stir well. top up with tomato juice and add black pepper to taste.

Run a lemon slice around the rims of 6 glasses and pour in the Bloody Mary mixture. Garnish each glass with a fresh slice of lemon and serve.

Happy Birthday, gorgeous girl!

10 thoughts on “More birthdays

  1. The alchemist in her lair, with shelves and tables groaning under the weight of foraged items and exotic spirits from around the world.

  2. Pingback: Jam, Jelly & Rellish by Ghillie James | 'I know a bank where the wild thyme grows'

  3. I am SO making that for my sister’s birthday in the summer. What a GREAT idea and I can suddenly think of several other friends that would LOVE it as well.

    Bloody Mary kits it is! (I wonder if that would be inappropriate for the teachers? Nah! They are young, they drink!)

    Mars xx

  4. Pingback: Of King Lear, Floozy Vocab and Christmas Hampers | 'I know a bank where the wild thyme grows'

  5. Pingback: Butterbeer Kits | 'I know a bank where the wild thyme grows'

  6. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and
    I’m impressed! Extremely helpful info specially the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

Leave a Reply

