Alco-frolicks

… or perhaps that should be frolicking with alcohol? Certainly my local Tesco thinks I have been making free with the spirits lately. And that would not be spirits of the supernatural variety. No. I have taken to buying vast quantities of the cheapest sorts of vodka, brandy, rum and even whisky. Which is a drink I despise. Coupled with my propensity to fall down, I am gaining something of a reputation. However, the truth of the matter is, it is not just things jam-like that I have been obsessing over.

Yesterday, I shared with you the adventures of my Currant Shrub. Well, they were not so much adventures, as consolation for valiantly wading through my self-pitying wallow. Thank you so much for your kind comments, both here and elsewhere. I enjoyed my misery. It was fun while it lasted but I will do my utmost to remain resolutely good-humoured in future. Excellent. Good to know. Back to the alcohol.

Having set the Currant Shrub to strain yesterday, I measured 500ml of juice so decided to experiment with two batches. One I have mixed with white rum, and for the other I have used dark. I would have used brandy but discovered that I used all that up in the Cherry Ratafia. I dare not return for more alcohol to Tesco just yet as on Monday I bought 2 litres of vodka, 1 litre of gin, 1 bottle of white rum, 1 bottle of sparkling wine, 6 mini bottles of rosé, 2 bottles white wine and 6 bottles of ale. I shall let you know of the results. Of the Shrub that is. The results of that amount of alcohol needs no feedback. Currently (pun intended!), it is sitting in its jars having turned to a sludgy gel. Something to do with pectin levels. And science stuff.

Anyway, more alco-frolicking was to be had in my garden. Along with the redcurrants in the garden, we also have some raspberry canes. They vary in their productivity but this year they have been pretty good so far with the promise of more to come. I am delighted with the following recipe for several reasons. First, because it only uses 200g of raspberries rather than a billion and one kilos which always seems to be the case when I am waiting, admittedly somewhat impatiently, for my fruit to ripen. Secondly, because it doesn’t need to lie down in a darkened room and be pampered for months, or even be ignored, before it is ready. It will be ready for drinking in a mere 7-10 days. Hurrah! My other reasons are very trivial. I like its colour. I love saying its name. Try saying it. It sort of explodes in the mouth like a fit of the giggles. It sounds frivolous and fun. In fact, exactly the sort of drink I would choose for a spot of alco-frolicking! I am looking forward to trying it with champagne cocktails. Yum.

Raspberrycello

200g raspberries

750ml vodka

200g granulated sugar

Put all the ingredients in a jar. Seal and leave to infuse for 2 weeks, inverting or shaking the jar every few days to redistribute the fruit and sugar.

Pour into a sieve and strain into a jug, putting the raspberries to one side. Taste for sweetness adding more sugar as required. Pour into sterilised bottles and store in the freezer for ice-cold drinking.

Use the vodka spiked raspberries as a pudding. Try on their own or as a base for crème brûlée.

6 thoughts on “Alco-frolicks

  1. With all that lovely alcohol around you could try alcofrolic jellies – I made perry and cider jelly for Easter and they’re quite refreshing. The proprtion in my recipe was three ‘leaves’ of gelatine to 500ml of liquid – boil 100ml of the liquid and melt the gelatine in it, then add the remainder of the cold liquid and allow to set.

    Eating a dainty jelly seems so much more respectable than glugging a pint!!!

  2. Must try that, Sue. I attempted to leave a reply yesterday via my phone but it got eaten at the last minute – how rude! It did strike me that it would be less than respectable if you made individual jellies in pint glasses …?!

  3. Pingback: More alco-frolicking & Rhubarb Schnapps « 'I know a bank where the wild thyme grows'

  4. Pingback: Jam, Jelly & Rellish by Ghillie James | 'I know a bank where the wild thyme grows'

Leave a Reply

