A Question of Appliance

I need help. This may not be news to some of you. Indeed, there may be cheers ringing out across the British Isles at this confession. In which case, I fear I am about to disappoint you.

I need help with the serious matter of boaty what not and nautical do dah. You see, since my little *ahem* accident with the inverter, I can no longer use either my hand held blender (annoying but bearable) or my electric whisk (another matter entirely).

Today, the Captain gallantly offered to buy a new one as we were passing a chandlery on the Stainforth & Keadby Canal. There was only one in stock. It was a monster. But while our old, now deceased, inverter seemed happy enough to power my domestic accoutrements, until it died that is, this hulking great beast tripped at the first attempt. In the end we left it.

The Captain is now suggesting I may have to manage without my power assisted kitchen aids and is thinking of buying a less powerful inverter. I know nothing of these things, but surely those of you who live aboard or regularly cook aboard don’t do everything by hand, do you? Please tell me you don’t!

I need details of both inverters and whisks etc that are being used successfully. The Captain will want the technical low down so spare me no jargon! Please help, I baked a cake entirely by hand yesterday. It is not an experience I want to repeat …

6 thoughts on “A Question of Appliance

  1. What about something like a Bosch MSM6A6UC battery powered handheld blender and chopper? It shouldn’t draw too much juice while recharging. Or maybe a Chef Buddy 82-H693 portable battery operated hand mixer?

  2. Hi Belle
    Sorry for the delayed reply. So busy with the kids! We have a 1500 watt pure sinewave invertor made by Rich Electric. It came with the boat so I don’t know what they cost, but it’s huge! It runs our washing machine when the engine is on so it could do kitchen appliances I’m sure. I love the look of your blog. I’m a big fan of midsummer nights dream and I do like the flower fairies, and I also wear doc martens. I am curious about foraging but never tried it. I did have the book ‘Food for Free’ but it’s lost now… I’m off to check out your recipies!
    Peggy

    • Oo sounds very technical! I shall pass on the details to the Captain and he’ll probably blanche and shudder …! Lovely to have you here. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog πŸ™‚

  3. I have a hand held blender for making baby mush and cocktails, but no whisk. Don’t make cakes! So glad you like my blog. I want to create an eBook of canal side activities for kids. Would you like to contribute an article on foraging? I can offer no pay, just the glory, & a link to your blog πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

