Scavenging and Apple & Rosehip Jam

Back onto ‘proper’ canals at last! We are now cruising the Calder & Hebble which is quite beautiful so far. I have missed the narrow waterways with their overhanging trees and abundant verges. They seem positively snug compared to the vast openness of the Trent, the Stainforth & Keadby and the Aire & Calder. Those canals offered slim pickings in the way of foraging. In fact, they were bleak, barren landscapes. But then, perhaps just as well. The Captain would not have thanked me if I had wanted to stop on some of those stretches. I suspect he would have refused.

Now that we are on the Calder & Hebble, I am once more finding masses. No matter that the 17 year old refuses to call it foraging. As soon as he realised I would not be using roadkill, he lost interest and now refers to it as scavenging. He also prods things suspiciously or asks to see the packets *sigh*

Anyway. Since getting back into the foraging groove, I’ve found pears, damsons, elderberries, haws, blackberries and rosehips. I was particularly delighted with the pears which are a little under ripe but that should make them all the better for bottling. I shouldn’t sell the previous canals short. I did manage to find some apples and rosehips while on the Aire & Calder. It seemed only right to deal with them first.

I simmered and mashed the rosehips yesterday (by hand this time, we remain inverterless), and set them to drip overnight. Today I turned them into Apple and Rosehip Jam. I added the cider to the water to cook the apples in because I had some to hand. However, it would work as well, maybe better, with just water.

Apple and Rosehip Jam

850g Rosehips

1l water

850g apples, peeled, cored and chopped

100ml cider + 100ml water

800g sugar

Juice of half a lemon

Bring rosehips in the water to the boil and simmer until soft. Mash using a potato masher in the pan. Strain through scalded muslin overnight. Cook apples in 100ml of water and 100ml of cider until soft. Add the rosehip juice, sugar and lemon juice and heat gently until sugar dissolved. Boil for about 15-20 mins till setting point reached. Pour into warm sterilised jars and seal.

Leave a Reply

